Bedford won the senior mens championship a record 3 years in a row between 2008-10& it is the most hotly contested of all the winter domestic championships. This year was a truly exciting race over 4 legs of 5km. Bedford performed brilliantly to finish in 6th place of the 166 finishing teams. Jack Goodwin got the team off to a great start on leg 1 coming home in 4th place. Jack wasted no time moving to the head of the field which contained several GB internationals. He remained with the lead pack as it whittled down to 4 people, but with around 800m to go he was forced to give way coming home in the great time of 14:55 just 8 secs behind the leg winner. James Hoad gave it all he had but was reeled in by a number of chasing teams finishing 8th with a time of 16:03. Darren Deed, a veteran of the gold medal teams of 2008-10, brought the team back towards the front, moving into 2nd place briefly before slipping back to 3rd with a solid 15:49. The race for the minor medals was still very tight at this point with just 42 secs covering 2nd to 16th places. James Bellward acquitted himself really well a valiant attempt to cling to a medal position was in vain as he was run down bringing the team home in 6th with excellent time of 16:08. Bedford's B team unfortunately failed to finish. The team was led off by Richard Henderson (16:26), Massi Dendani (17:52), and Spencer Wilson (19:50).

Cookies make it easier for us to provide you with our services. With the usage of our services you permit us to use cookies.